Don’t lose attributes when moving files from Terminal
As of release 3.2, if you use the
mv command to move a file or batch of files from one directory to another, everything works hunky dory. But if you move those files to another partition on your system, they’ll lose all their attributes! This could be disasterous if, for example, you wanted to move an overstuffed mail folder to a dedicated data volume. This can be avoided by simply using Tracker rather than Terminal to do your file moving, or by zipping your file(s) first.
Posted in Warnings
(comments are closed).